User Login 
    Remember My Login 
Quick Links
Contact Us
Site Map

Industry News

'La La Land' Wins Cinema Audio Society Award for Sound Mixing


La La Land danced off with the Cinema Audio Society’s award for sound mixing in a live action feature film, during the 53rd annual CAS Awards, Saturday at the Omni Los Angeles Hotel.

The award -- which went to re-recording mixers Andy Nelson and Ai-Ling Lee, production sound mixer Steven Morrow, scoring mixer Nicholai Baxter, ADR mixer David Betancourt and Foley mixer James Ashwill — topped a field of nominees that also included Doctor Strange, Hacksaw Ridge, La La Land, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story and Sully.

La La Land’s Nelson, Lee and Morrow are also on the Oscar ballot for sound mixing, along with the sound mixing teams from CAS nominee Hacksaw Ridge, as well as Arrival, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story and 13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi.

In six of the last 10 years, the winner of the CAS live action feature competition went on to win the Oscar. That has included two high profile musicals: Les Miserables (La La Land’s Nelson was also part of that team) in 2012 and Dreamgirls in 2006.

Also Saturday at CAS, Pixar’s Finding Dory was honored in the animated feature category and The Music of Strangers: Yo-Yo Ma and the Silk Road Ensemble in the new documentary feature category.

In the television competition, winners included Game of Thrones (one-hour series), Modern Family (half-hour series), The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story (TV movie or minseries) and Grease Live! (TV nonfiction, variety or music series or specials).

Jon Faveau was presented the Filmmaker Award during the ceremony, saluted by Seth MacFarlane, The Jungle Book composer John Debney, and CAS president and Academy Award winner Mark Ulano. “It means so much to me that those who have worked with me didn’t veto this,” Favreau quipped, accepting the award. On a more serious note, he praised the "invisible art" that too often is "undervalued" and reflected on the “magical” moment “when you ultimately take the picture and marry it to sound.”

Production mixer John Pritchett -- an Oscar nominee for Rob Marshall’s Memoirs of a Geisha and Sam Mendes’ Road to Perdition – received a standing ovation as he was presented the Career Achievement Award by his Road to Perdition collaborator Scott Millan and Jack Black--who joked that sound mixing is "a lot like plastic surgery, you only notice it when it's badly done."

CAS also presented a Student Recognition Award to Wenrui ‘Sam’ Fan of Chapman University.

Elayne Booslerwill hosted the ceremony.

The complete winners list follows:


  • Motion Picture — Live Action


    Dale Robinette/Lionsgate

    La La Land WINNER

    Production Mixer – Steven Morrow, CAS

    Re-recording Mixer – Andy Nelson, CAS

    Re-recording Mixer – Ai-Ling Lee

    Scoring Mixer – Nicholai Baxter

    ADR Mixer – David Betancourt

    Foley Mixer – James Ashwill


    Doctor Strange

    Production Mixer – John Midgley, CAS

    Re-recording Mixer – Tom Johnson

    Re-recording Mixer –Juan Peralta

    Scoring Mixer – Peter Cobbin

    ADR Mixer – Doc Kane, CAS

    Foley Mixer – Scott Curtis


    Hacksaw Ridge

    Production Mixer – Peter Grace

    Re-recording Mixer – Kevin O’Connell, CAS

    Re-recording Mixer – Andy Wright

    Re-recording Mixer – Robert Mackenzie

    Scoring Mixer – Daniel Kresco

    ADR Mixer – Diego Ruiz

    Foley Mixer – Alex Francis


    Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

    Production Mixer – Stuart Wilson

    Re-recording Mixer – Christopher Scarabosio

    Re-recording Mixer – David Parker

    Scoring Mixer – Joel Iwataki

    ADR Mixer – Nick Cray

    Foley Mixer – Frank Rinella



    Production Mixer – Jose Antonio Garcia

    Re-recording Mixer – John Reitz

    Re-recording Mixer – Tom Ozanich

    Scoring Mixer – Bobby Fernandez

    ADR Mixer – Thomas J. O’Connell

    Foley Mixer – James Ashwill

  • Motion Picture — Animated


    Courtesy of Pixar

    Finding Dory WINNER

    Original Dialogue Mixer – Doc Kane, CAS

    Re-recording Mixer – Nathan Nance

    Re-recording Mixer – Michael Semanick, CAS

    Scoring Mixer – Thomas Vicari, CAS

    Foley Mixer – Scott Curtis


    Kubo and the Two Strings

    Original Dialogue Mixer – Carlos Sotolongo

    Re-recording Mixer – Tim Chau

    Re-recording Mixer – Tim LeBlanc

    Scoring Mixer – Nick Wollage

    Foley Mixer – Darrin Mann



    Original Dialogue Mixer – Paul McGrath

    Re-recording Mixer – David E. Fluhr, CAS

    Re-recording Mixer – Gabriel Guy, CAS

    Scoring Mixer – David Boucher

    Foley Mixer – Scott Curtis


    The Secret Life of Pets

    Original Dialogue Mixer – Carlos Sotolongo

    Re-recording Mixer – Gary A. Rizzo, CAS

    Re-recording Mixer – David Accord

    Scoring Mixer – Frank Wolf

    Foley Mixer – Jason Butler



    Original Dialogue Mixer – Paul McGrath

    Re-recording Mixer – David E. Fluhr, CAS

    Re-recording Mixer – Gabriel Guy, CAS

    Scoring Mixer – Joel Iwataki

    Foley Mixer – Scott Curtis

  • Motion Picture — Documentary


    The Orchard/Courtesy Everett Collection

    The Music of Strangers: Yo-Yo Ma and The Silk Road Ensemble WINNER

    Production Mixer – Dimitri Tisseyre

    Production Mixer – Dennis Hamlin

    Re-recording Mixer – Peter Horner



    Re-recording Mixer – Jeffrey Perkins


    Eat That Question: Frank Zappa in His Own Words

    Re-recording Mixer – Mark Fragstein

    Re-recording Mixer – Marvin Keil

    Re-recording Mixer – Armelle Mahe



Los Angeles:
7715 Sunset Boulevard, Suite 200
Hollywood, CA 90046
(323) 876-4770
 Find us on
 Find us on
New York:
145 Hudson Street, Suite 201
New York, NY 10013
(212) 302-0700

(800) 705-8700 • webmaster

Copyright © 2008 Motion Picture Editors Guild, IATSE Local 700, All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy